Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeKey Dates for Elections

Key Dates for Tuesday, December 8, 2020, Runoff Elections, including Times and Locations

Check the deadlines for registering to vote, applying for a ballot-by-mail, and learning when early voting starts for the upcoming elections.

LWV Vote Yard Sign

Latest News about Election Dates

Thank you for voting in the November 3, 2020 election! The following races will be in the runoff election on December 8:   

  • Balch Springs City council Pl 2 at Large
  • Coppell City Council Pl 5
  • Dallas ISD District 2
  • Duncanville City Council District 2
  • Garland ISD Pl 4
  • Irving City Council District 3
  • Wilmer Mayor Hutchins Mayor

Joint Runoff Election is December 8, 2020

Last Day to Register to Vote
for this election
Monday, October 5, 2020 (postmarked)
Early Voting
for this election

Polls are open for in-person voting  during these dates and times, at these locations (or use the Early Voting Location Map or text VOTE to 214-730-6230.)

  • Sun., Nov 23-25 8am to 5pm
  • Nov 26-27 Poll locations closed for the holiday
  • Nov 28 8am to 5pm
  • Nov 29 1pm to 6pm
  • Nov 30-Dec 2 8am to 5pm
  • Dec 3-4 7am to 7pm 

The Dallas County Elections Office is the only location that will accept sealed "mail in ballots" from the voter himself/herself with photo ID during the above times. Scroll down to "Ballot by mail" for additional dates and times for submission of a mail-in-ballot at the elections office.

Last Day for elections office to receive "Application for Ballot by Mail" 
Friday, November 27, 2020 (received)
Voter with Ballot-By-Mail may submit it to Dallas County Elections Office at
1520 Round Table Drive
Dallas TX 75247 

Ballot-by-Mail can not be accepted at any polling location.

Election Day
Tuesday, December 8, 2020, 7am - 7pm (be in line by 7pm) at these Election Day locations (or use Election Day Vote Center map  or text VOTE to 214-730-6230).
Last Day for elections office to receive a domestic "Ballot by Mail" in the mail
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 (Election Day) at 7:00pm if carrier envelope is not postmarked


Wednesday, December 9, 2020 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00pm if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00pm at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)

Source: Secretary of State Texas and Dallas County Elections Office

Quicklink for this page: